Mobile: The essential shopping accessory for the French People

The mobile takes more and more space in our daily life, including when we do our shopping. According to a recent study on the subject, the smartphone would even be replacing our traditional loyalty cards ...

The border between physical and digital commerce is gradually fading away: mobile is everywhere today, all along the purchase journey. Webloyalty, publisher of e-shopping portals, has sought to understand these new uses of the smartphone via a survey conducted by Toluna.

First surprise: the French would be willing to abandon the sacrosanct loyalty card in favor of dematerialized loyalty cards.

In fact, 49% of 18-34 year olds say they access their loyalty cards directly from their smartphone. There is still a way to go for seniors (55 years and older) since they are today only 28% to use this feature of their mobile.

Same story promotions, since 62% of 18-34 admit to access the discount codes offered by the brands from their smartphone, against 39% of seniors.

Will the mobile phone definitely replace the congested wallet of loyalty cards of all kinds?

From mobile to all stages
In-store use of the smartphone, there is an attraction for in-store comparative research: more than half of French (54%) say they use their smartphone in shop to check the price of competition, 57% do not hesitate to take the coveted product to share to share, and 54% use it to show the desired product to the seller, which allows them to simplify the search and save valuable time.

Payment via smartphone, it has now been adopted by 37% of 18-35 years against 15% of seniors.

More unusual still, 64% of 18-34 year olds admit to consulting their mobile shopping list, compared to 35% of seniors: a practical but also eco-responsible way of shopping!

Finally, the smartphone also appears at stages of the shopping journey where it was not necessarily expected: the French are indeed 65% to declare use as GPS ... to geolocate the desired store.

Mobile : L’accessoire shopping indispensable des Français

Le mobile prend de plus en plus de place dans notre quotidien, y compris au moment de faire nos courses. Selon une récente étude sur le sujet, le smartphone serait même en passe de remplacer nos traditionnelles cartes de fidélité…

La frontière entre commerce physique et digital s’atténue petit à petit : le mobile est aujourd’hui partout, tout au long du parcours d’achat. Webloyalty, éditeur de portails e-shopping, a cherché à comprendre ces nouveaux usages du smartphone via un sondage réalisé par Toluna.

Première surprise : les Français seraient prêts à délaisser la sacro-sainte carte de fidélité au profit des cartes de fidélité dématérialisées.

En effet, 49% des 18-34 ans déclarent accéder à leurs cartes de fidélité directement depuis leur smartphone. Du chemin reste encore à faire côté seniors (55 ans et plus) puisqu’ils ne sont aujourd’hui que 28% à utiliser cette fonction de leur mobile.

Même son de cloche côté promotions, puisque 62% des 18-34 admettent accéder aux codes de réduction proposés par les enseignes depuis leur smartphone, contre 39% des seniors.

Le mobile remplacera-t-il définitivement le portefeuille encombré de cartes de fidélité en tous genres ?

Du mobile à toutes les étapes
Côté usages in-store du smartphone, on note un attrait pour la recherche comparative en magasin : plus de la moitié des Français (54%) déclarent utiliser leur smartphone en boutique pour vérifier les prix de la concurrence , 57% n’hésitent pas à prendre le produit convoité en photo pour le partager, et 54% l’utilisent pour montrer le produit recherché au vendeur, ce qui leur permet de simplifier la recherche et de gagner un temps précieux.

Le paiement via smartphone, lui, a aujourd’hui été adopté par 37% des 18-35 ans contre 15% des seniors.

Plus insolite encore, 64% des 18-34 ans admettent consulter leur liste de courses sur mobile, contre 35% des seniors : une manière pratique mais aussi éco-responsable de faire ses courses !

Enfin, le smartphone apparaît également à des étapes du parcours d’achat où on ne l’attendait pas forcément : les Français sont en effet 65% à déclarer l’utiliser comme GPS … pour géolocaliser le magasin recherché.